Loneliness is an interesting concept to me. I feel like everyone tries to avoid complete loneliness. I mean it’s one thing to want to have a day to yourself, but completely alone forever? No me gusta. It’s funny because I feel like the feeling of loneliness doesn’t gradually develop. It just hit’s you. Suddenly there’s silence. No one likes to admit they are lonely. I like to think only the brave do because once you admit it to yourself, it’s there. Kind of like the shadow that follows you. I know that’s kind of corny to say, but t’s true.

Take a gander at Donnie Darko and Holden Caulfield from ,”The Catcher in the Rye,”  for instance. They are both similar in many aspects. They both don’t really give a crap what other people think of them. They tend to go on their own without anyone on there sides. They make me think of that song by Green Day, “Boulevard of Broken Dreams.” That’s how they are really. They embody that song. One of their biggest similarities is that they are lonely. Though what’s interesting is that’s also their biggest difference.

Donnie is quite open about the fact he is lonely, he literally says, “I don’t want to be alone.”

 

alone-depression-donx27t-leave-me-donnie-darko-Favim_com-1972546

However, Holden is kind of different. I think personally he is afraid of being alone. He doesn’t want to admit to himself that he is lonely. He does say thing’s however that indicate it such as,” “Well- take me to the Edmont then,” I said. “Would you care to stop on the way and join me for a cocktail? On me, I’m loaded.” ” He tells this to a cabbie that he literally just met! Now, I don’t know about you, but that is just plain desperate for human interaction. My main point here is that there are some people that admit loneliness like Donnie and some people who admit loneliness like Holden.

Loneliness is probably one of the worst feelings in the world. Like you’re that one guy in that Twilight Zone episode who avoided a nuclear bomb and was left the only man alive. Without other people in your life you simply have no body, but your self and that my friend is not easy.

